Indian Air Force | Introduction
Indian Air Force | Introduction

Indian Air Force | Introduction

Indian Air Force | Introduction | VayuIndia Aviation
Indian Air Force | Introduction

The Indian Air Force, also known as Bhartiya Vayu Sena, is the Indian Armed Forces air power. It is the fourth largest air force in the world in terms of manpower and aircraft. The key role is to safeguard Indian airspace and undertake aerial warfare throughout the battle. It got official on 8 October 1932 and honoured India’s air forces with the Royal prefix throughout the World War II. In 1947, India got its independence to the United Kingdom. It was maintained and operated the identity of the Royal Indian Air Force on behalf of the Dominion of India. Moreover, in 1950, the government withdraw the suffix “Royal” and its change to a Republic.

IAF Missions

The IAF has taken part in official and unofficial missions such as operation Vijay during Kargil war, rescue operations during any disasters. IAF is the most important part of any calamities happening around India. The IAF supplies the ground resources as well as strategies and technical aviation equipment to the Indian Army in the near air. The Integrated Space Cell is under control of the Indian Army Forces and the Indian Space Research Organization. Also, the military will significant benefits from developments in the civilian space exploring field by uniting the civilian space exploration organizations and the military faculty under a single Coordinated Space Group.

Indian Air Force | IMG2 | Vayu India Aviation
IAF | Introduction | IMG 2


The President of India is the Supreme Chief of all Indian forces, and the National General in Charge of the Air Force is also eligible for this subject. The leader is the Air Staff Commander with the title of Air Marshal General. Six organizational and two mobile commands are split-up in the Indian Air Force. Through command is operational by a Commander-in-Chief Air Officer with an Air Marshal rating. Moreover, a wing is a transitional structure between a squadron and a command. This comprises usually of two to three IAF squadrons and aircraft groups and forward support units.

Rank Structure & Trainings

Of course, The Indian Air Force ‘s rank system depends on the Royal Air Force system. The maximum rank earned by the IAF is the Indian Air Force’s Marshal after an incredible wartime career, which has been granted by the President of India. Also, the only officer that has achieved this level is MIAF Arjan Singh. The General of the Indian Air Force is the Air Staff General, who holds Air Chief Marshal ‘s rank. Numerous military academies are set up throughout India by the Indian Army Forces to train their staff. The Indian Air Force has a school authority and several training establishments in addition to the three-service institutions. Hence, the instructor gets its training at the Air Force Academy in Dindigul, based in Hyderabad.

For any other blog/article related issues and to reach out to us,
Mail us at [email protected]
VayuIndia Aviation
Fly Limitless
Jai Hind

VIA – Vayu India Aviation


  1. Pingback: History of Indian Aviation | Vayu India Aviation | Fly Limitless

  2. Pingback: Top Dangerous Airports in the World - Vayu India Aviation

  3. Pingback: Strength of Indian Air Force | Vayu India Aviation | Fly Limitless

  4. Pingback: Join Indian Air Force 2020 (Explained) | Vayu India Aviation | Fly Limitless

  5. Pingback: Eligibility for FLYING BRANCH in Indian Air Force | Vayu India Aviation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »